B.A.A.D.M. 001

Mathieu Serruys – on Germaine Dulac

  • LP
  • Edition of 300
  • 2014
  • A1.The Silver Sea
  • A2.Heavenly Lagoons
  • A3.Extremely Bright Views, pt. 1 & pt. 2
  • A4.The Silhouette Of A Ship Passing
  • B1.In The Vault Of Stalactites
  • B2.Interlacing Rivers And Plains
  • B3.A Tongue That Extends To Infinity
  • B4.Phosphorescent Landscapes

On Germaine Dulac is the debut LP by Belgian musi­cian Mathieu Serruys. B.A.A.D.M. com­missioned Serruys to revisit Germaine Dulac, female pio­neer of the early exper­i­men­tal film. Loosely inspired by moods, scenes and scen­eries of La Coquille et le Clergyman (1928), Serruys cre­ates a sound spec­trum that reflects the bewil­dered states of mind that mark her avant-garde masterpiece.

Atmospheres range from fierce mon­u­men­tal­ity to del­i­cate emo­tions, evoked by eroded tex­tures and brit­tle two-tone melodies. Maltreatments of bro­ken tape recorders, insta­ble sound con­struc­tions and instant tech­ni­cal seizures mir­ror the shaken uni­verse of dis­torted cinema.

On Germaine Dulac is the result of a sur­pris­ing con­fronta­tion between dis­ci­plines and col­lo­cu­tors sep­a­rated in time and space.

Music & instru­ments by Mathieu Serruys. Recorded at The Holiday Island between December 2013 and July 2014. Produced by Mathieu Serruys & Joris Verdoodt. Mastered by Jürgen De Blonde. Album design by Mathieu Serruys & Joris Verdoodt.

BAADM Mathieu Serruys Germaine Dulac LP BAADM Mathieu Serruys Germaine Dulac LP 2 BAADM Mathieu Serruys Germaine Dulac LP 3 BAADM Mathieu Serruys Germaine Dulac LP 4